top of page

 The Seven Jewels 

Nathaniel Allison Murray

Jewel Murray was a leader in the organization of the fraternity. He was very involved in development of the first constitution of the fraternity. Brother Murray got his degree from Cornell as well as completing graduate work there. At the end of his college career, Nathaniel Allison Murray entered the field of education as a teacher in Washington, D.C.

Jewel Callis has the distinction of being one of the founders of the first intercollegiate Greek letter organizations for African-Americans. After graduation from Cornell, Brother Callis entered the field of medicine where he served as a physician at a government hospital.

Henry Arthur Callis

Jewel Jones was present when the decision to form a fraternity was made on Tuesday, December 4, 1906, Brother Jones was named a Jewel for his dedication to the causes of Alpha. He held the office of President of Alpha Chapter as well as maker of the Beta, Gamma, and Delta chapters. Brother Eugene Kinckle Jones also served as the Executive Secretary of the National Urban League for many years.

Eugene Kinckle Jones

The Fraternity initially served as a study and support group for minority students who faced racial prejudice, both educationally and socially, at Cornell. The Jewel founders and early leaders of the Fraternity succeeded in laying a firm foundation for Alpha Phi Alpha principles of scholarship, fellowship, good character, and the uplifting of humanity.


Alpha Phi Alpha chapters were developed at other colleges and universities, many of them historically black institutions, soon after the founding at Cornell. While continuing to stress academic excellence among its members, Alpha also recognized the need to help correct the educational, economic, political, and social injustices faced by African-Americans.


Alpha Phi Alpha has long stood at the forefront of the African-American community's fight for civil rights through leaders such as: W.E.B. DuBois, Adam Clayton Powell, Jr., Edward Brooke, Martin Luther King, Jr., Thurgood Marshall, Andrew Young, William Gray, Paul Robeson, and many others.

Jewel Ogle was the first secretary of Alpha chapter. After leaving Cornell, Brother Ogle entered into the secretarial field where he had the unique privilege of being attached to the office of the Committee on Appropriations of the U.S. Senate.

Robert Harold Ogle

As a founder and member of Alpha Phi Alpha, Jewel Chapman was known as an ardent worker in the fraternity's cause. After leaving Cornell, Brother Chapman entered into the field of education as a teacher.

Charles Henry Chapman

Jewel Tandy was instrumental in the way Alpha is displayed today. After his college days were over, Brother Tandy became a registered architect in New York City. Vertner Woodson Tandy also has the distinction of being the first Black man to receive a commission in the New York National Guard.​

Vertner Woodson Tandy

                                                                  Jewel Kelley has often been recognized as a driving force in the development of Alpha Phi Alpha. Brother Kelly was also the first president of Alpha Chapter. After leaving Cornell, George Biddle Kelly became a civil engineer in the service of the state of New York.

George Biddle Kelley

bottom of page